Contemporary Art Romania

03 September 2007

The 2007 Almanac of Political Art

Following an open call for A4 contributions to the first Almanac of Political Art, over 80 people responded from all over the world with images, statements, drawings and projects. During a live editing day on 30 June 2007 at the Austrian Cultural Forum, London, Sophie Hope, three guest editors (Leigh French, Adam Jeanes and Simona Nastac), a production team (Valentina Gottardi, Ann Harezlak and Lucy Parker) and a live participating audience discussed the contributions and compiled as many copies of the Almanac as they could on the day. Every contributor received a copy and now the Almanac is available to download here!

Editor at large: Sophie Hope

Guest Editors: Leigh French, Adam Jeanes and Simona Nastac

Production Team: Valentina Gottardi, Ann Harezlak and Lucy Parker

The Contributors:
Gareth Ackland, aladin, allsopp&weir, Gary Anderson and Lena Simic: 'twoaddthree', Bankleer, Petra Bauer, Caspar Below, Rona Bierrum, Bijari, Mark Brogan, Hannah Brown, Cabinet Société Réaliste Conseil, Giovanni Calemma, David Campany, Ele Carpenter, Mark Clare, Fran Cottell, Phil Coy, Raffaella Crispino, Carla Cruz, Branka Curc¹ic¹, Nemanja Cvijanovic´, Alberto Duman, Leah Elsey & Sonia Uddin, Mbonu Christopher Emerem, Wapke Feenstra, Alec Finlay, Freee, Raimi Gbadamosi, Valentina Gottardi, Catherine Graham, Igor Grubic, Marlene Haring, Catherine Hemelryk, Bernadette Huber, John Jordan, Doris Koch, Martin Krenn, Anna Lascari, Ana Laura Lopez de la Torre, José Maçãs de Carvalho, Angela Madesani, Alistair McClymont, Rosemarie McGoldrick, Nela Milic, Harriet Mitchell, Peter Mörtenböck & Helge Mooshammer, Vlad Nanca, Joseph Nechvatal, Christian Nold, Paul O’Neill, Devon Ostrom, Lucy Catherine Parker, Participatory Fieldwork, Mark Pawson, Dan Perjovschi, Maria Petrides, Victoria Preston, Psychological Prosthetics (Dee Hibbert-Jones & Nomi Talisman), Nada Prlja, Kieren Reed and Abigail Hunt, Oliver Ressler, Paula Roush / msdm, Paul Sakoilsky, Gabriele Schettler and Martin A. Dege,, Michael Schwab, Walter Seidl, Basak Senova and Banu Cennetoglu, Set Up Tolerance (Grete Aagard and Tanja Nellemann), SKART, Michal Siml, Barry Sykes, Stefan Szczelkun, Aniko Szovenyi (HINTS Institute), Szuper Gallery, Suzana Tamamovic, Unwetter, Mona Vatamanu and Florin Tudor, Theodore Wilkins,, Vicky Wright, yoke and zoom and YNKB.

For images of the live production day go to the Plotting Shed / Blog page.

If you have any comments or feedback contact

Printed copies (black and white) are available on request at £15 (23 euro) plus postage. To order a copy, contact Sophie on

1 comment:

James David said...

The Almanac is quite an achievement - nice work! I am the author of the Groundswell Blog, and I'd like to write a bit about the process of putting it together, if you'd be interested. Please let me know, and keep up the good work!